October 1 – 6, 2012: Chapter 3

Following college I entered seminary where I studied for four more years before entering into the ordination process.  One of those years I lived in LaCenter, Washington.  I was assigned a two-point parish – which means: two locations, one church.  Highland Lutheran was nestled in the foothills of the Cascade Mountains; to the north I could see what remained of Mount Saint Helen, to the southeast loomed Mount Hood.  My internship supervisor was a really great guy.  He and his wife, Carol, had built their dream home about five miles from the church.  Prior to my arrival that home had an electrical fire and burnt to the ground.  They lost everything…material, that is.   (To Carol’s relief, his old golf pants and golf shirts could not be gleaned from the ashes.)

Phil would agree with James Mackintosh who said (on page 56) “It is right to be contented with what we have, but never with what we are.”  It takes patience and perseverance to change the unnatural relationship that many of us have with ‘stuff.’  Contentment is not acquired like a pair of new socks; contentment is being centered within regardless of what you are without.

The points on pages 60 – 63 are helpful to consider as we change our approach to understanding money and our overall financial health.  Regarding #3: “develop a grateful heart” my mind went back to Oprah’s challenge several years ago.  She suggested we create a daily Gratitude Journal.  What would your suppertime look like if your family shared one thing they are grateful for each time you gathered around the table?

But the main answer that I’m really interested in hearing from you this week is in question #4 on 63.

“Where does your soul find true satisfaction?”

Augustine wrote, “My soul is restless until it rests in Thee.”  Deep thoughts with Augustine… when we are a culture that is used to Deep Thoughts with Jack Handy.

Finally, I truly believe that most our impulse buying or shopping habits have been developed to fill the void which actually comes from anxiety.  (Anxiety is simply a heightened level of emotions). When we are stressed or bored or do not want to do the hard work of becoming the person we’ve been created to be – we fit or plaster ourselves with the bandaid of stuff.  I think that God wants us to have a deep healing from our anxiety and stress by knowing and believing that we are completely loved and adored by the One who created us.

Where do you find true contentment?  (Which ‘tent’ do you want to live in?)

Let me know when you get a chance.

1 Comment

  1. Judy Larson

    This book, Enough, and the book we are studying on Sun and Tues, Fresh Air, both put the emphasis on simplifying your life. The need to slow down and have quiet time so that you can hear the spirit and feel him(her) in your life. I think I spend most of my time in the conTENTment area, being “old” and retired certainly helps. My home is where I love to be. I love to do jigsaw puzzles, reading a good book, reading my bible. There are certainly times when I move to the disconTENTment area, but after reading these books, I feel more aware of this so I pray and try to move back to conTENTment. Life is so much better in the conTENTment area.

Leave a comment