September 24-29: Chapter Two

Did you have any idea that the word ‘prodigal’ literally means “one who wastes money?”  Who knew?  Well, I guess Adam Hamilton did because he wrote about it in chapter two, page 31.  A few years ago I spent some time thinking about the story of the prodigal son and I came to a deeper understanding of what I think Jesus was up to when He told the disciples this story.

Could it be that all of us are somehow represented inside this parable?  Many of us start out sort of wild and carefree – demanding stuff that might not be good for our body, mind, or spirit.  Then, a good majority move into the position of the older brother who resents his little brother for bringing all of this drama into the family.  Some of us might even be the steward or servant who gets hardly any notice yet knows everything that is going on inside of the family.  Finally, some of us move into the role of the hand-wringing parent, waiting for the prodigal to return home, and when the prodigal returns, throws an awesome party.

Parables are a way of ‘casting a net alongside’ another net; a story that might very well be parallel to our own lives.  In the case of this story, I wonder if our financial lives follow a similar pattern?  ‘Wild and carefree’ to ‘iron-fisted stubbornness’ to ‘it’s not about the money: it’s about the relationships we have with one another.’

If it is true that we are called to be imitators of Christ then I believe we are to live in humble service to our neighbor.  Page 38 says, “We were created to care for God’s creation.  We were created to love God and love our neighbors as ourselves.  We were created to care for our families and those in need.  We were created to glorify God, to seek justice, and to do mercy.  To be a Christian is to follow Jesus Christ and to seek to do his will in our lives.  It is to say, ‘Here I am, all of me! I’m yours.  Put me to work, help me to serve, use me to accomplish your work.'”

So, what are you doing to set healthy financial goals?

Have you sat down with your family and looked a plan to reach the goals you have in regard to money?

Six Financial Planning Principles:

1) Pay your tithe and offering first.

2) Create a budget and track your expenses.

3) Simplify your lifestyle (live below your means).

4) Establish an emergency fund.

5) Pay off you credit cards, use cash / debit cards for purchases, and use credit wisely.

6) Practice long-term saving and investing habits.

What is your biggest challenge regarding the principle list as written above?

 

The hardest question we will ever ask ourselves is the one I’ve left for last:
What is your life purpose?

Keep up the good work in reading “Enough” by Hamilton.  You can share any and all of your insights to the questions above through this blog or send them directly to jules@allsaintscg.org

Thank you!  PJ

2 Comments

  1. Dan Stettler

    This book (and shared growth) couldn’t have come at a more perfect time. Several weeks ago I got together with some old high school buddies and we had a lengthy conversation around how materialistic we (as a society) had become. Everyone “needing” the next best thing whether that be a new iphone, a new purse or a Harley (boy do I “need” a Harley)! We all know that we don’t “need” these things. This is where I think this particular book explains it very nicely – it’s all about balance. We all work hard for what we have and it is ok to want and even indulge occasionally. I have been blessed with many things in my life – I have a wonderful wife, two great kids, plenty of life experience plus a job that helps me support my family comfortably. We don’t have credit card debt (plenty of school loans though!) but like sooo many, have fallen into the “needing it now” mentality and with BestBuy, home depot and every other store out there offering the ever so enticing “12 months no interest” it can often be too easy to say YES. Change is hard.

    I found the challenge of not buying anything new for 6 months very interesting – wow – could you even imagine!! My kids would go into shock – as would we I’m sure! My wife will tell you I HATE clutter and the constant buying of new “stuff” just leads to build up of clutter…in my opinion the more stuff you have the more cluttered things are…and if you have physical clutter around you…you will feel the clutter in every other aspect of your life…but that might be a whole different blog!

    1. We have not always been good about tithing. There is always an excuse…we have to pay for this or that…we just can’t afford to give that much – yet we can buy a new tv or go out to eat 2 this week?? Maybe if church could do a 12 month no financing (just kidding)! We have gotten better since we started on-line giving – it takes it out of our hands. It’s like a 401k or automatic savings withdrawl from my check, if you never see it you can’t spend it. I would like to get better with our giving – and we as a family are going to discuss ways we can do that.
    2. We do not really have a budget or track our expenses – short of balancing our checkbook. As the author put it, because of where we are at financially and our current lifestyle – we sometimes spend $20 here or there without thinking much about it – sad to say, but true.
    3. I would LOVE to simplify my life. I have joked (half-joked) about moving to a cabin up in the woods, giving up many of our possessions, but that just isn’t very realistic right now. So instead we are looking at easier ways. Changing to a cheaper TV package and internet provider, eliminating our land line for our current cellphone plan only, not making shopping a habit (instead going to the zoo or a state park), fixing my car instead of buying new and I really like the idea of the 24 hour waiting period to help curb impulse buying!!
    4. We do have an emergency fund setup…but we can and should do better to build it up.
    5. We do not have any credit card debt (except what we pay off monthly) and generally do a good job of living within our means but as I’ve said…we need to stop taking advantage of the 12 months no financing deals!
    6. Long term savings – we can always save more – but – we were both smart enough to begin our retirement savings right away after college so we feel pretty good about where we are at. I remember my dad saying, “pay yourself first”…meaning before you spend anything put some into your savings. We should add in give to God first – me second!

    What is your life purpose? Today apparently, it is to tell my life story – this got kind of long! This is a tough question that I have really struggled with – trying to find a way to really make a difference in the world. Sometimes we look so hard that we miss the obvious answer right in front of us. My life purpose today is to be a good husband and father – set a good example for all the kids in my family (and extended family) as well as a good example for the adults. I want to live life without regret and try as best I can to influence others in a positive way…sometimes harder than we think!

    • Judy Larson

      Your last paragraph: I too have struggled with changing the world. I’ve thought many times that if I was truly a follower of God, I’d sell everything and become a missionary. But realisticly, I could not do that, I wouldn’t do well in the places missionaries find themshelves. I was telling this exact things to one of our wonderful Pastor and was told that what I’m doing right now, daycare for my Grandkids before and after school, could be what God is call me to do. Loving them, caring for them and talking to them about God is special. I’d never thought of it that wa, it gave me some peace in my life. So you, being a good husband, setting a good example for your kids and others around you and letting God’s love shine though you to others, is your calling, right now. May be it will be something different when you get older and grayer.

Leave a comment