September 17-22: Chapter One

Brian Williams on the top five stories from last week.

Brian Williams said that over 50 million new iPhone 5’s would be sold between now and Christmas – even thought they will require a new cord that will not be compatible with any of the other cords iPhone users currently use to power their devices.  He suggested that we all stand up to Apple by not buying it simply because of the cord issue.

(See link above for the video. The iPhone bit begins at minute 4:07.  I’m guessing the cord will not make a difference to those smart phone users that ‘must have’ the latest device, like Adam Hamilton wrote about on pages 10-11.) 

It’s true – we are people that like ‘stuff’.  Heck, this week will prove the point as Pastor Bill and his many minions set up for the Fall Garage Sale.  (Although we might argue that it’s a great way to recycle items that kids have grown out of or people do not use any more).  Regardless, we are people that like ‘stuff’.

You’ve read about the American Dream, “affluenza”, and “credit-itis” in this chapter.  And, I bet I’m not alone in the shame I felt when I got into debt using a Discover card during college…

Since then I have learned how to ‘get a healthy financial life’.  It took a lot of work, it took a ton of discipline, and it took humility to admit that maybe I was using money to feel better about how I ‘thought’ other people saw me.  What I needed was a change of heart, a change of desires, and a change about my own self worth.  It’s great to know and even better to believe that no matter what mistakes we make with our lives: God specializes in transformations.

So, how are you doing with the questions at the end of this chapter?  Are you struggling with credit card debt, shame, or affluenza?  Do the biblical passages help you understand the sort of relationship God wants us to have with money?  If so, how?  If not, why not?

What are ways you might be able to simplify your life, your spending, or the way you spend your time?

Let me know when you get a chance.

Peace, deep and abiding peace.

5 Comments

  1. It was interesting to read Chapter 1 about the IPhone, knowing that Sprint has one with my name on it being shipped as I read that. But then I stepped back and looked at why I ordered that IPhone, and I realized that I really do have the balance I have sought for so many years.

    Two years ago, when everyone else was getting their smartphones, I prided myself on having a “not so stupid phone”. I just needed one that allowed me to text using a keyboard so I could better communicate with my daughters, and that would allow Email connection if needed. Over the past 20 years, I have watched the world change so not having a computer was a hindrance to living your life. Now, I was starting to see that the world was switching to smartphones. I visited the Rembrandt exhibit at the Minneapolis Institute of Art, and those with Smartphones could reach an app that gave them all the information about that display, and most of the other displays there. The rest of us were paying $6 a person for an awkward sound device to guide us through. Like any tool, it can be a burden or a blessing…

    I am finally at the point in my life where money is only money. I have enough at the end of the month, and I never worry if I pay too much when sharing expenses or helping someone out. And I truly feel blessed. Money was a burden for so many years, spending more than I had, and I look forward to this study because it was something that was already becoming a part of my life. I love the challenge of doing less with more, in so many ways.

  2. Judy Larson

    In the Old Testament, the people prayed to all sorts of false gods. They made them out of wood, gold, etc. Their false gods were obvious. I think today, our “false” gods are less obvious, such as money and the things we buy with it. I’ve realized recently that when I’m at home with nothing to do (or nothing I want to do) I often will think “I’ll just run to Kohl’s, or Target and browse around”. Or Dollar Tree, don’t you just love that store? So I go and guess what, I come home with stuff I don’t really need. Look in my linen closet, I must have 4-5 cans of bathroom spray, but hey, they were only a buck and you can’t have too much of that, right? Now that I’ve become aware of this I’m working on finding things to do at home rather than running to the store to get over the boredom. We don’t have credit card problems, we charge everything, but pay it off at the end of the month, but that doesn’t mean we don’t spend our money on stuff we don’t need. As I said in my last post, I’m asking myself this question more – “Do I NEED this item or do I just want this item? Another thing that I find myself doing more of is using as much of a product as I can get out of the jar or tube. I shake jars until I can’t get more out, squeegee the tubes, etc. I’m mending items rather than tossing and buying new. One time my brother was critizing me for tapping the katchup bottle to get as much as I could out before tossing. This may seem silly to some, but it makes me feel like I’m not as wasteful as I use to be. I really believe that God wants us to be thankful and mindful of the gift of money he gives us to use here on earth. I believe that if we believe that it’s God’s gift to us, we will be better stewards of our money as well as of our time.

  3. Jill Redmond

    For me, this chapter is simply a reminder to find balance within our own financial spending. My husband and I, from the beginning of our marriage, simply made the concious effort to not spend what money we didn’t have, on what we didn’t need. Or in other words, live BELOW our means. No doubt, we all spend money on things – some of which we think are a need, but at times are just a want. But, if I’m going to spend money, the greater joy is that of an experience with other people rather than of of more “stuff”. I can’t wait to read more of this book!

  4. Julie L. Smith

    I was a rob Peter to pay Paul kinda gal when my husband met me. He was the charge a pizza and lots of beer on the credit card the college gave him for the low, low intererst rate of 29%, kinda guy. He spoke to a friend who is a great Christian man and knows of God’s gifts and followed his budgeting techniques. What? My boyfriend is putting me on a budget? All I can say, 11 years later is THANK GOD!! Abundance is the word that grasped me because whatever I have is in abundance; love of friends, love of family, a great job, health, beautiful children, the gorgeous purple, orange sunset that I experienced with my daughter, the time I get to just swing my boy. Those are the important things and I need to bring myself and my family back to ‘do I really need that’ and be truly thankful for what I have and continue to recieve from people around me.

  5. Carrie tokheim

    When we were married, there were no credit cards, health insurance, etc. Only the savings account. We saved my income and had secret “compartments” for things like new cars, trips, stuff…. All cash or check. We did reverse budgeting. We kept track of what we spent and chatted about where the money went. (not every month). We saved loose change.

    Almost 50 years later, we still do most of those things, paying off the credit card every month. Thank God for health insurance!!!!

    I appreciated the author emphasizing the spiritual.

Leave a comment