Sept. 10-15, 2012: Introduction

Read 3 pages for the introduction to “Enough” as your assignment for GROWING IN FAITH this week.

I heard part of an interview interview by Tess Vigeland on NPR’s Market Place Money this last Friday with Hill Harper.  He is an actor on CSI NY and has written a book about handling wealth and money.  To read more about the book, go to: http://www.amazon.com/The-Wealth-Cure-Putting-Money/dp/1592406505

During the interview I heard Harper say, “Money occupies this huge space in many of our lives, most of our lives. Yet many of us have an unhealthy relationship to money, and I really wanted to explore that — and I include myself in that. It’s not that I’m the expert. What I am is the explorer, hopefully with the reader, exploring this unhealthy relationship to money and wealth.”

It seems as if “Enough” is not just a ‘church’ topic.  Millions of books have been written about finances, money management, and the economy.

The reality is that most of us are stressed about personal finances and the economy.  And, when we talk about money, most of us move into a defensive posture, a posture that oozes anxiety.

The purpose of this blog is spelled out in the second to the last paragraph of the introduction on page 7: “My hope is to invite readers of this book to experience metanoia (a change of mind) – to see our money and our possessions with new eyes remembering, as Jesus taught, “One’s life does not consist in the abundance of possessions” (Luke 12:15).”

As we move through this book together I want to invite you to think more deeply about words that can reflect how we understand our faith and the gifts we have been given as children of God: joy, abundance, gratitude, grace, purpose, and contentment.  

Which of these words stand up and shimmer as you read them?

Are they ‘church’ words?

What are your personal goals as you enter in to this conversation using Adam Hamilton’s book?

Please take a minute to ponder, type, then post – following the royal rule as outlined in James 2: love neighbor AS you love yourself.  To be clear, the comments posted are to be thoughtful, kind, and filled with grace and mercy towards one another.

Let the adventure begin…

3 Comments

  1. Julie Wright

    Gratitude is the word that pops up for me right now. I’m filled up with gratitude for people, time, gifts, kindness, school, a job, and the cool fall weather. Gratitude is where I’m at now, but that’s not always the case. When life gets hectic and stressful, it’s easier to lose that focus and lose the gratitude attitude. It’s funny that when I am grateful, it seems that contentment and joy follow — and it has nothing to do with having (or not having) money or stuff. What do all of you do to keep your focus on gratitude (i.e., prayer, play time, humor, rest, etc.)?

  2. Judy Larson

    I read a book a couple of months ago. The lady was born in 1902 (true story) and was quite a character. Her husband was a mechanic and they built a house behind the garage, they included indoor plumbing including a bathroom. Then the depression hit and they lost everything. They ended up managing a range in Arizona with a “path to the bath” again. Her comment was “I realized I wanted indoor plumbing, but I didn’t NEED it.” I’ve thought about this statement a lot. I’ve found myself thingking this when I’m shopping and have put things back because “I wanted it but didn’t NEED it”. I’m going to continue to ask myself this question before I buy things.

  3. Purpose is the word that is catching me this month (or even year), as I look at this list. Struggling in my profession during this economy, and having to step down as Coach of my son’s soccer team so they can continue beyond my knowledge of the game. You always look at some things as work, like the time and commitment to coaching a team, but realize the joy that it brought you when you no longer are a part of it. I guess I’m looking forward to just slowing down and being thankful for what I’ve done with the team, work and waiting to see what our creator feels I’m up for as his calling.

Leave a comment